Even unto Death . . .

This is coming at least 3 weeks after my last post, which – by the way – was sent hurriedly from the WordPress platform on my phone. Thank you @Wordpress for such a great app. And my apologies for being so inconsistent.

I’ve been learning.

Not as I ought to but slowly and surely as I ask God, because there’s nothing we ask that He doesn’t answer; it may be YES | NO | WAIT | SOMETHING ELSE.

And one thing I always find is that asking God to teach me something always, always, always leads to my learning something.

If you haven’t tried that ever, this is an open invitation.But it’s nothing as open as Jesus’ words in Matthew 11:29:

Take My yoke upon you and learn of Me, for I am gentle (meek) and humble (lowly) in heart, and you will find rest (relief and ease and refreshment and recreation and blessed quiet) for your souls. [Jer. 6:16.]

And even if you don’t ask, if you’re willing, you will be taught as you open up your heart.

The key?

Open up your heart.

Today’s post is inspired by a struggle.

A struggle we’re all familiar with, and even more familiar with as Christians – staying good or clean or pure or righteous.

And before I go any further, I would like to acknowledge that sin being inherent in human nature, it is impossible for you to stay clean by yourself.

So you can stop trying now. And it’s very important that you do that because unless you do, you will never give yourself the opportunity to get clean or righteous.

So the struggle: I spent today fighting temptation.I spent today falling into temptation. I did not win my battle against sin.But because I was trying on my own, using human maneuvers, I fell flat. And as I pleaded for mercy with God by the blood of Jesus, I confessed my sin and turned it over to Him, basing my plea on His Word that we can rely on Him to be faithful and just to forgive.

But it wasn’t till I sat on the edge of my bed that this post came up.

I’ve been listening to Audrey Assad sing this song for about a week now – if I’m correct about when I discovered her blessed gift.

Lover of my soul

Even unto death

And every time I heard it, it resonated with me in an even unto death way of the body dying and the soul returning to its maker kind of reasoning. And it makes sense because the next lines of the song are:

With my every breath

I will love you

So after praying, when I sat on my bed, and the song came back in my heart, my spirit leapt within me when I was nudged by the Holy Spirit to the understanding of a different kind of death.

Now please do not feel funny or like you need to correct me when I say the Holy Spirit did this because, if you think you’re smart enough to get “inspiration” by yourself, I know I’m not that smart – God is literally my smartness.

Jesus is the lover of my soul, even unto death – the death by sin or in sin.It’s not an elaborate thing. And so this part will be short.

God loves us, so much that:

  1. While we were yet sinners, Christ died for us – Romans 5:8
  2. He sent Jesus to die for us, so that once we belive in Him we can have eternal life – John 3:16, Romans 8:32
  3. Nothing can separate us from His love, not even death – Romans 8:29 – 39

His message to me is that His love will not stop even when I fall in sin, He loves anyway. And that’s a reassurance that I can come home. It is a sort of antithesis of ’till-death-do-you-part’ relationships; death cannot keep you from God’s love – except you choose to stay dead in sin and ignore His love.

Even more, when someone loves you they take the effort to help you. Jesus goes over and above that by letting me turn my life over and take His, and even more does the righteousness bit so I can just rely on His righteousness through faith and I don’t have to keep trying to be clean or good or righteous.

That’s what Even unto Death now means to me. And I pray the Holy Spirit grants you revelation and conviction.


And for you who’s been trying so hard to find peace or rest or you’ve just been trying to be clean and pure, there’s hope. We’re all sinners and God’s love is so immense that He wants to bring you to Himself and give you rest. Just take this moment to confess with your lips that Jesus is Lord and believe that God raised His from the dead and you’re saved. Please find a Bible believing and teaching fellowship to help you grow.

God bless you.

Much Love,

XOXO

❤ ❤ ❤

Your Fifty Kobo & More

