Hope

Happy New Year, everyone!
I’m so glad to write that and share this with you.
Thank God for His mercies, new every morning, faithful as the day dawns to wake us to life.


I refrained from sharing anything on the first of the year, first because I was stuck in a fritz writing assignments and second because I didn’t have anything concrete to say, slash write here.
And now, you ask, what do I have to write?

Well . . .

To be honest, not much. But to be fair, it will say a lot.

Thinking back to 2015 and how it ended, how I got worried about a lot of things and fretted very often, I cannot imagine how I could have gotten so worked up. Uhm, scrap that. I CAN imagine.

Here, I hadn’t written a lot and didn’t have much going. In school the assignments were starting to feel like the rock of Gibraltar, mounting on my shoulders with pressure and so much weight, that it felt like a sin to travel home for the Christmas holidays. Needless to say, as any African child knows, I could not do anything while I was home – it’s not necessarily a bad thing that that happened, though.

So back in school two days before the New Year, I was still fretting. A lot more or a lot less, I can’t really remember right now. But I was fretting.

And as the year drew to a close, talking with Mo’, I realized something was different about how I felt about the New Year. No matter how big my fretting was, I felt good about the year.

Fast-forward to the day of the crossover service at my church in school. I walked into the church to find those around praying. The minister leading was saying something about talking to our Father and thanking Him, so I joined in. And as I prayed, I felt even more different and soon words were pouring forth from my lips in torrents of praise. I was praying in a way I hadn’t prayed in a while, scripture bursting out to my honest surprise. And I felt that feeling again, and finally – dramatic and resounding drumroll, please -I placed my finger on it.

Someone, ask me what it was, please.

😥

Hope.

Beautiful, unexplainable hope.

As the choir started to sing, we were led to sing the following words – I need to share them so you understand how I felt:

You made a way
When my back was against the wall and it looked as if it was over
You made a way
And I’m standing here
Only because You made a way

You moved mountains
You caused walls to fall
In Your power, performed miracles
There is nothing that’s impossible
And I’m standing here only because You made a way

Don’t know how
But You did it

Those are the words I heard then. And that is my theme song for now this year. It symbolises what gives hope, and that hope is what I’m sharing tonight.

It’s because He lives that we can face today, tomorrow and forever.

It’s because of Him that we can handle whatever.

Because He’s here – there with you – His strength made perfect in our weaknesses, making ways.

I’ve begun to see miracles over my life.

And I know you will too.

Much love, darlings.

God bless you always and forever.

Happy New Year.

XOXO.
❤ ❤ ❤

 

P.S. The song was done by Travis Greene and is titled “You Made a Way”

2 Comments

Your Fifty Kobo & More

